MAINE FOREST SERVICE NEW OPEN BURNING LAWS AS OF OCTOBER 25, 2023

Do you enjoy having recreational campfires at your residence, camp or vacation home? The most common cause of wildfires in Maine are fires that are too large or left unattended and escape. A new law has been enacted to reduce the chance of an escaped fire. It defines the size of a recreational campfire and the need for a burn permit for larger outdoor fires. The new law also makes it unlawful for burning outdoors during a red flag warning.

By definition, a "recreational campfire" means an outdoor fire that is used for cooking, personal warmth, light or ceremonial or aesthetic purposes and that is not a part of debris disposal (AKA burning brush). A residential fire contained within an outdoor fireplace also falls into this category.

ACCORDING TO SEC. 4. 12 MRSA §9324, SUB-§:

A person who kindles or uses a recreational campfire **may not** allow the recreational campfire to exceed 3 feet in diameter on the ground at the base of the fire or 3 feet in height. If the fire exceeds that size, then a burn permit is required. These burn permits can be obtained without cost at <u>www.maineburnpermit.com</u> or from your local fire dept.



The Community Wildfire Defense Grant program is now available to help communities reduce wildfire risk near homes.

Community Wildfire Defense Grant | US Forest Service (usda.gov)

FMI, please call **207-287-4989** or email **Maine.forestrangers@maine.gov.**

